Announcing's 2018 Pushcart Prize Nominations
Announcing's 2018 Pushcart Prize Nominations

Announcing the 8th Annual Contest

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

We are pleased to announce the judges for the 2017 Annual Contests in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry, with a submission deadline of September 4, 2017. There is no theme for this contest.


  • Fiction: Padma Viswanathan
    Padma Viswanathan is the author of the novels The Toss of a Lemon and The Ever After of Ashwin Rao.
  • Nonfiction: Nicole Walker
    Nicole Walker is the author of five books, most recently Egg (Bloomsbury), and an associate professor at Northern Arizona University.
  • Poetry: Robert Wrigley
    Robert Wrigley, Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the University of Idaho, published his most recent book, Box (Penguin), in March 2017.

Submission Deadline

The deadline for our 8th Annual Contests in Fiction, Nonfiction, and Poetry is September 4, 2017, for publication in late 2017 or early 2018. All notifications will be made in November 2017. View full contest guidelines.

Prizes and Entry Fee

A prize of $500 plus publication for the first-place winner will be awarded in each genre. Finalists in each genre may also receive publication and a small monetary prize. Entry fee is $15 for each story, essay/article, or set of 3-6 poems (or single long poem). Submit and pay online after reviewing the contest guidelines.

Last Year’s Winners

Last year’s winners were:

One Poem in Four Parts by William Wright
Judged by Eamon Grennan

“Varya’s Black Suede Shoes” by Peter Justin Newall
Judged by Kate Bernheimer

“Geography of the Self” by Catherine Mauk
Judged by Lauret Savoy

For additional information, view the contest guidelines or contact us. is the world’s first online journal of place, publishing a rich mix of literature, artwork, case studies, and more since 1997.